“The Fundamentals of Caring”

I love when this happens.

You’re laying back, regretting wasting so much time doing nothing, and the lame movies you watch to make yourself laugh a bit. Then you open Netflix (which has limited movies btw since they blocked proxies and you cannot access the US one. Kinda wonder why I’m still subscribing till now), and you see Paul Rudd’s charming face on a poster,

Paul-Rudd-Clueless-Interview-Video

so you think for a second and then click on it. I admit hesitating but only because the poster felt like it’s gonna be an Indie movie, and I’m kinda in the mood for laughs not deep stories. Paul Rudd has this incredible charisma.. it’s so soothing. When he looks at you with his deep green eyes (I mean looks at the camera, directing at you looking from the screen :/) you feel that surely the world will be at peace.. eventually.

So, I’m kinda mad after checking the reviews for the movie, to find that there are a lot of Paul Rudd fans out there who watched it for the same reason. For some reason I didn’t think many would be interested in a funny and charming Paul since most people go for “sexy” actors like Chris Hemsworth, Ryan Gosling and Chris Pine.. Hey, not complaining here.

Anyways, I want to say that I really liked this movie. I can describe it as a feel-good dramedy (Drama-comedy) movie. There were some laugh out loud moments, and some wide smile ones. It felt real, thanks to the actor’s performances. Definitely became a new fan for Craig Roberts, who is my same age but convincingly playing an 18-year old boy in the film. Also, I am gradually developing respect and admiration for Selena Gomez. She played the part well.

Fundamentals Of Caring
Fundamentals Of Caring

 

Got you a video that doesn’t reveal too much -hopefully- from the movie:

 

 

I think I might read the novel “The Revised Fundamentals of Caregiving” itself, or something written by its author.

“Listen to me: everything you think you know, every relationship you’ve ever taken for granted, every plan or possibility you’ve ever hatched, every conceit or endeavor you’ve ever concocted, can be stripped from you in an instant. Sooner or later, it will happen. So prepare yourself. Be ready not to be ready. Be ready to be brought to your knees and beaten to dust. Because no stable foundation, no act of will, no force of cautious habit will save you from this fact: nothing is indestructible.”
Jonathan Evison, The Revised Fundamentals of Caregiving

“I’ll never stop caring. But the thing about caring is, it’s inconvenient. Sometimes you’ve got to give when it makes no sense to at all. Sometimes you’ve got to give until it hurts.”
Jonathan Evison, The Revised Fundamentals of Caregiving

Leave a Reply

